Meat and Potatoes, and VEGGIES!

Curt is a big meat and potatoes kind of guy and recently we have been eating a lot of vegetarian and vegan dishes. He doesn’t complain but I know deep down he’s been wanting something to really fulfill that crave! SO, I decided to make him some roasted potatoes and carrots (and garlic), BACON steamed braising mix, and STEAK! At one point, he turned to me and said, “Why is this so good”?  I responded, “Because of all the veggies (wink wink)!”

20131115-144816.jpg

Roasted Potatoes (For 3)-  I always try to make servings for at least 3 or 4 in order to have leftovers for the next day.

2 potatoes sliced up from the share

3 cloves of garlic minced

3 carrots sliced up from the share

Coat in sea salt and olive oil. bake at 375 degrees for 30 minutes or until preferred tenderness.

Bacon Steamed Braising Mix

4 strips of bacon

2 shallots (larger size) from the share coarsely chopped

3 cloves of garlic minced

1 bag of braising mix from the share- equals roughly 3 heaping handfuls

1/2 cup chicken or veggie broth (I was going meaty tonight).

Cook the bacon first until it reaches your preferred doneness. Add the shallots and garlic, saute for about 5 minutes. Add the braising mix and stir until it gets coated and then add the chicken broth. Cover and let cook on low for about 10 minutes stirring occasionally. There will be leftover sauce so pour over the entire dish when done or add a little flour to thicken up and use as a gravy!

About Kimberly

I've always been in love with food. I was recruited as a pastry chef at a local bakery when I was 15 and left to go to Culinary School when I was 18. Although culinary school didn't work out (too business oriented), I have become more involved with farming and farm-to-table dishes. I'm a twenty something-er who is trying to figure it all out and using food to get through the tough times. Whenever I'm stressed, I twirl in the kitchen and find something to make!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

