Butternut Squash… Say whaaaat?!?!

I’ve been wanting to make both mac and cheese and hummus for a while now, and what better ingredient to add then butternut squash. We received a butternut squash in our share a few weeks ago and I feel like we’re probably going to get another one soon, so I HAVE TO USE IT! haha, well I don’t have to but that’s what I’m telling myself.

Butternut Squash Mac and Cheese. Recipe from Two Peas and Their Pod blog.

20131115-153941.jpg

I used bow-tie pasta instead of elbow macaroni, ricotta cheese instead of aged-white cheddar (I still used the sharp cheddar, SERIOUSLY SHARP VT CABOT!), and italian blend spices instead of rosemary and nutmeg. Other then that, I followed the recipe.

Butternut Squash Curry Hummus. Recipe from Oh She Glows blog

20131115-155423.jpg

It’s pretty interesting tasting but I think if you’re into Curry, you’re gonna like it. If you don’t like it, just bring it to your next pot-luck! People always like interesting dishes!!

 

About Kimberly

I've always been in love with food. I was recruited as a pastry chef at a local bakery when I was 15 and left to go to Culinary School when I was 18. Although culinary school didn't work out (too business oriented), I have become more involved with farming and farm-to-table dishes. I'm a twenty something-er who is trying to figure it all out and using food to get through the tough times. Whenever I'm stressed, I twirl in the kitchen and find something to make!
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Butternut Squash… Say whaaaat?!?!

  1. Kaitlyn says:

    there’s a great recipe for butternut squash mac n cheese on katie webster’s blog. made it a few weeks ago.

  2. Emily Andreatta says:

    That hummus looks bomb. What are you eating it with?

    • Kimberly says:

      We actually sat around trying different dipping options. Veggies were ok… We only had carrots but figured radishes would probably be the best, like a Korean or purple radish. Then we ended up eating a ton of it with NaaN crackers. It also tastes really good from finger dips. Haha!

Leave a Reply

