Sunday Yummday

Sunday morning, what better way to start the day then giving the cast iron skillet a workout! We grabbed a big potato, a couple carrots, shallots, and garlic from the CSA share and sauteed it up in the skillet. We added some tofu at the end and our favorite hot sauce, Siracha! We’re very nervous as we’ve heard a rumor the Siracha factory might be shut down due to odor. What would we do? I guess it’s time to try making our own. One of the families we stayed with in California while on our road trip sent me a link to a home made siracha recipe, but I have yet to try it. This news about the factory might kick my butt into motion though!

20131117-095313.jpg

In other news, I made bread this past week. Although it didn’t have any ingredients from the CSA share, it goes well as a side to a lot of things. Sometimes, people just need some carbohydrates in their life. What better way to get them then a loaf of whole wheat mung bean sprout bread! I got the recipe from a blog called Vegan Richa but a side note that I did use regular non-vegan butter and no bread flour, just a whole wheat and white flour mix and it turned out great. I even added some sunflower and pumpkin seeds!

20131117-110621.jpg

The bread didn’t even last 2 days it was so good! There’s something to be said about a fresh baked loaf of bread.

Off to watch some FOOTBALL! SUNDAY YUMMDAY!

 

20131119-114638.jpg

About Kimberly

I've always been in love with food. I was recruited as a pastry chef at a local bakery when I was 15 and left to go to Culinary School when I was 18. Although culinary school didn't work out (too business oriented), I have become more involved with farming and farm-to-table dishes. I'm a twenty something-er who is trying to figure it all out and using food to get through the tough times. Whenever I'm stressed, I twirl in the kitchen and find something to make!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

