Monday! Back to work…sort of, and Kohlrabi explained

After coming back from our road trip, I learned my good friends Julie and Eric were in the process of buying a pizza shop so I decided to get on board with them! A few weeks ago, they decided to close down the shop and do a complete overhaul of the space. Although I’d like to be working, it really has been nice to find my creative side again in the kitchen!

We have been talking about different ways to make specific ingredients last longer and taste better on the pizzas so today, I went over to Julie and Eric’s house to discuss pickling! We made a bunch of different brines to experiment and test which ones would become the baselines for the future at the pizza shop! We pickled golden beets in a apple cider and ginger brine as well as a red wine and basic spices. Purple beets in another sweet apple cider and spiced brine. And finally both the celery and carrots in a basic white vinegar, italian seasoning brine. We have more ingredients to experiment with such as eggplant, jalapenos, and garlic as well as trying to make our own siracha and ranch dressing! A note that these specific pickled items are refrigerator style pickles which help us feel better about safety!

20131119-113344.jpg

After pickling, Julie and I headed back to my house around 630pm to make some dinner. Curt and our room mates Jamie and Matt were hanging out in the kitchen (only the best place on earth to congregate!) and Curt had started cooking some rice for dinner. I had purchased some VT Rhapsody Tempeh (fermented soybeans) and we marinated them in soy sauce and sauteed them for a bit and then added about 4 cups of Kimchi. When I made the Kimchi, I put a jar on the counter and it fermented after about 4-6 days. I read somewhere that the more fermented sour kimchi is better for cooking dishes so I just dumped that right out into the pan! We let the Tempeh and Kimchi simmer for about 10 minutes and ate it over a bed of whole grain rice. Yum. I also realized we still had a head of lettuce, Kale, Carrots, and Kohlrabi, and Tatsoi so I whipped up a salad. I added dried cranberries, sunflower seeds, and pumpkin seeds. My favorite dressing for a heartier mixed green salad to sweeten it up is:

20131119-113353.jpg

Quick sweet salad dressing

1/4 cup olive oil

1/4 cup red wine vinegar

1 TBS honey or maple syrup

2 TBS orange juice or mango juice

I only used half the Kohlrabi and like the Carrots, I shredded them up. Make sure to take off the outer layer of skin on the Kohlrabi because it tends to be pretty tough.

20131119-114657.jpg

With the other half I just cut it up into strips to eat with hummus or just by itself! It’s so darn good.

20131119-114705.jpg

My cousin Abbie asked about what I was going to do with my Kohlrabi and although it’s great in a simple salad or by itself, here are some other recipes to check out!

Top Five ways to prepare Kohlrabi

Kohlrabi Carrot Slaw

Simple Roasted Kohlrabi

Kohlrabi Soup

Kohlrabi Home Fries

And don’t forget you can use the leaves of Kohlrabi (if they come attached) as if they were Kale, or another hearty leafy green. Great in soups and added to salads!

About Kimberly

I've always been in love with food. I was recruited as a pastry chef at a local bakery when I was 15 and left to go to Culinary School when I was 18. Although culinary school didn't work out (too business oriented), I have become more involved with farming and farm-to-table dishes. I'm a twenty something-er who is trying to figure it all out and using food to get through the tough times. Whenever I'm stressed, I twirl in the kitchen and find something to make!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Monday! Back to work…sort of, and Kohlrabi explained

  1. Abbie says:

    You’re the best! I WILL conquer the kohlrabi next summer, or maybe I’ll even be brave and seek one out at the winter market.

Leave a Reply

