CSA Week 6

My favorite day of the week! CSA pick up day, soccer, and hump day all in one! There’s something awesome about Wednesdays (although next week the pick up is on Tuesday because it’s Thanksgiving week).

Contents: lettuce, beet greens, radicchio, fennel, carrots, potatoes, cilantro, garlic and butternut squash

20131120-134033.jpg

Curt and I will be leaving next Wednesday to go down to his family’s spot for Thanksgiving. They have a lot of people show up and it’s such a great time with an after dinner hay ride. I’m actually not sure if the hay ride is still on the docket because we may have been horsing around a little too much for the people providing the ride. Even if there’s no ride, there’s definitely going to be food! Curt and I are in charge of carrots. I’ve been stockpiling the carrots from the share since last week but Im sure we’ll still have to head to the CO-OP in order to be able to make a couple great dishes. I’m thinking of pickling a jar tomorrow so it’ll be ready for next week. Stay posted for pictures and a brine recipe!

As for the radicchio, it’s not red cabbage. It’s stronger and tangier but very tasty. Im going to try this Radicchio and Feta Rolls recipe at some point later this week or early next week.

About Kimberly

I've always been in love with food. I was recruited as a pastry chef at a local bakery when I was 15 and left to go to Culinary School when I was 18. Although culinary school didn't work out (too business oriented), I have become more involved with farming and farm-to-table dishes. I'm a twenty something-er who is trying to figure it all out and using food to get through the tough times. Whenever I'm stressed, I twirl in the kitchen and find something to make!
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

