Working on Thanksgiving side dish: operation carrots!

For Kaitlyn and Jake: I reached into the box to find the most amazing fresh firm carrots. They were just the right size and shape and I couldn’t wait to eat em’ right up, especially with some ranch dressing!

As I said I would, I pickled some more carrots. This time, they’ll be used as a Thanksgiving side dish (not on pizzas). We got a bunch of carrots this week in the share so I decided to make a simple jar of refrigerator sweet dilled carrot sticks. I have been really trying to use premium ingredients these days and although it tends to be a little bit more expensive, we end up buying less because “Real” ingredients tend to keep you fuller longer, well, at least that’s what we think!

20131121-154915.jpg

So, I cut up a bunch of carrots into sticks and then blanched them for a minute before shoving them back in the jar with a couple crushed garlic cloves. Then I boiled the brine for 5-6 minutes and poured it over the carrots, screwed on the lid and let it cool down before putting it into the refrigerator.

The carrots before the brine goes in:

20131121-154923.jpg

Easy Sweet Refrigerator Dilled Carrot Sticks

10-12 small carrots, enough to fit into a quart sized ball jar

2 cloves garlic crushed up

1 bay leaf

1 Tbsp mustard seeds

1/2 Tbsp dill seeds

1/2 Tbsp fennel seeds

1 Tbsp sea salt

1/4 cup sugar

1 1/4 cup apple-cider vinegar

1 1/4 cup water

Blanch the carrots, and put them into the jar with the garlic. Place all remaining ingredients in a saucepan and boil for 5-6 minutes. Pour brine over the carrots and garlic and close lid tightly. Wait for it to cool to room temperature before putting in the refrigerator. Wait at least one day to eat. They will last a month or two in the refrigerator but we all know they wont last that long…lets be serious here!

Poor photo but I’m sure they’ll turn out great!

20131121-154930.jpg

We’re still gonna make another side dish which will be just a simple steamed carrots with butter and maybe a little maple syrup but that doesn’t need to be prepared until the day of Thanksgiving!

Here are some other recipes I found while getting some inspiration:

Whole Foods Maple-Glazed Carrots

Eating Well’s Top Carrot Side dishes

That’s all for right now! Curt will be home soon and I think we’ll be making a fennel sausage dish so stay tuned!

About Kimberly

I've always been in love with food. I was recruited as a pastry chef at a local bakery when I was 15 and left to go to Culinary School when I was 18. Although culinary school didn't work out (too business oriented), I have become more involved with farming and farm-to-table dishes. I'm a twenty something-er who is trying to figure it all out and using food to get through the tough times. Whenever I'm stressed, I twirl in the kitchen and find something to make!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Working on Thanksgiving side dish: operation carrots!

  1. teriprestash says:

    Can’t wait to see you two!

Leave a Reply

